Green Building Council of South Africa

In a few days time, the Green Building Council of South Africa (GBCSA) will be holding their 4th annual GBCSA Convention and Exhibition.  It must be said that since the inception of the GBCSA, the building industry has changed its standards to incorporate “green building” (which is “a building which is energy-efficient, resource efficient and environmentally responsible – it incorporates design, construction and operational practices that significantly reduce or eliminate the negative impact of development on the environment and occupants”, as the council’s website puts it). 

This convention is especially interesting as there will be speakers and courses to attend, from topics like “Climatically appropriate design”, to “Biomimicry” and “Greening existing buildings”.  Of particular interest to me, is the Green Roofs course which I was hoping to attend, well also the talk about Food Security and absolutely the Introduction to Biomimicry.  I have issues with wanting to know everything which doesn’t always work out.

I will be speaking on Thursday, October 27th, (very few days time) with Sidonie Carpenter at the Green Roofs talk as part of the convention’s programme.  I am very honoured to be slotted in with Sidonie, her scope, work and knowledge of the industry globally is admirable.  I am feeling a little bit out of my league to be amongst such industry giants truthfully but I figured, probably as much as the council has figured, I have a lot to say and the years and sweat and toil of research and work deserves to be broadcast.  It is of the utmost importance that green roofing needs to happen, by anyone and everyone who can, it cannot be exclusive, and I will push that fact. 

Finally, it’s funny how this post  follows the one before, I mean even my skype name has “green” in it.  I suppose I don’t like the hype that’s attached itself to these words, some of it has become hysteria even.  We should all calm down.  Too much green in the environment means an influx of water anyways, green in the Karoo = good in winter, green on the golf course = bad always. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

